Challenge yourself in 2023 by obtaining one of these in-demand IT Certifications  

information technology certification advice
Challenge yourself in 2023 by obtaining one of these in-demand IT Certifications  

Looking to level-up your skills in 2023? Our team at FTTS prioritizes continuing education throughout the year. Employees are encouraged to work with our trainers to set goals to help them learn as much as they can about tech trends and advancements, as well as eduation to explore new interests in our industry.  

It is important to continuiously self-reflect and identify skill sets you wish to expand upon or acquire. Expanding your knowledge will boost your preparedness to tackle new challenges in the constantly evolving world of technology.  

Here are our top picks for 2023: 

1. CompTIA Certifications 

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) provides a variety of certifications for entry and mid-levels. CompTIA IT Fundamentals is a fantastic pre-career certification to equip you fundamental knowledge as you begin your career in IT. 

Exam Format 75 MCQ 
Duration 60 mins 
Passing Marks 650 (on a scale of 900) 
Price  $134 
Prerequisites N/A 
Validity Lifetime certification – No annual renewal fee 
Where to learn more 

2. Microsoft Certified: Azure Administrator 

If you have expertise in implementing, managing, and monitoring your organization’s Microsoft Azure environment then obtaining this certification is a great way to showcase your knowledge.

Exam Format 40-60 MCQ 
Duration 120 mins 
Passing Marks 700 
Price  $165 
Prerequisites N/A 
Validity 1 year – Renewal assessment can occur up to 6 months prior expiration 
Where to learn more 

3. Information Technology Infrastructure Library 

ITIL is a popular IT service management framework used across the world. There are different levels of ITIL certifications such as ITIL foundation, ITIL intermediate, ITIL practitioner, and ITIL expert. The foundation level is the first level, details are shared below:  

Exam Format 40 Questions, MCQ 
Duration 60 mins 
Passing Marks 26/40 (65%) 
Price  $495 
Prerequisites N/A 
Validity Lifetime certification – No annual renewal fee 
Where to learn more 

4. Apple Certified Support Professional 

Apple has a heavy presence throughout businesses and schools. Knowing how to effectively support the products is vital. Apple offers both IT Training and App Developer Training. Showcase your skills and become an Apple Certified IT Professional.

Exam Format 100 MCQ, Multiple Answers, Matching questions 
Duration 120 mins 
Passing Marks 78% 
Price  $149 
Prerequisites N/A 
Validity 2 years 
Where to learn more 

5. Project Management Professional (PMP) certification 

The Project Management Institute offers the Project Management Professional (PMP) certification. This certification will enhance your expertise and your resume. The certification focuses on the three main methodologies of Project Management – Agile, Waterfall, and a mixed/hybrid approach.

Exam Format MCQ (200 Questions) 
Duration 4 Hours 
Price  $405 (members); $555 (non-members) 
Prerequisites Secondary degree (HS diploma, associate’s or global equivalent) 7,500 hours leading and directing projects 35 hours of PM education OR CAPM certification OR  Four-year degree 4,500 hours leading and directing projects  35 hours of project management education OR CAPM certification   
Validity 3 years 
Where to learn more 


CRISC (Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control) is offered by ISACA. The certifications tests your knowledge regarding 4 IT domains – IT risk identification, risk response, and mitigation, IT risk assessment, risk and control monitoring, and reporting. This certification is ideal for Business Analyst, Project Managers, Risk, Compliance, or Control professional.

Exam Format MCQ (150 Questions) 
Duration 240 mins 
Passing Marks 450 out of 800 (56.25%) 
Price  $575 (members); $760 (non-members) 
Prerequisites N/A 
Validity To maintain your CRISC certification, you must earn a minimum of 20 CPE hours yearly, 120 hours during a three-year cycle period, and an annual payment of $45. The $45 fee is for members of ISACA – non-members must pay $85 annually.  
Where to learn more 

7. Certified Scrum Master 

Scrum is a vital methodology utilized within most projects.

Exam Format 80 Questions – MCQ, multiple answers, True/False 
Duration 60 mins 
Passing Marks 85% 
Price  $150 
Prerequisites N/A 
Validity Lifetime certification –
No annual renewal fee 
Where to learn more 


CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional) is the top certification in the Information Security field. The certification helps you:

  • Define the design, architecture, and management of the security of your organization
  • Develop working knowledge in the eight domains recommended by the CISSP CBK
  • Learn about Access Control Systems, Security, and Methodology of Software
  • Enable you to optimize Security Operations
Exam Format 250 MCQ, Advanced innovative questions 
Duration 6 hours 
Passing Marks 700/1000 
Price  $749 
Prerequisites Minimum of 5 years working full time in at least two domains of the CISSP Common Book of Knowledge (CBK)  4-year college education degree or a regional equivalent of a CISSP credential from the (ISC)2 approved list 
Validity Annual maintenance payment – $125 
Where to learn more 

9. Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect 

Google provides many cloud certifications. As long as you qualify, you can take the exam. This particular certification is sought after many within the IT industry. The exam will test your knowledge on the following:

  • Ability to plan and design cloud solution architecture
  • Ensure robust and reliable solution and operation
  • Adhere to compliance and security measures
  • Optimize business and technical processes
Exam Format 50-60 MCQs, multiple answers, 2 case studies 
Duration 2 hours 
Price  $200 
Prerequisites N/A 
Validity Valid for two years;
must re-certify every two years 
Where to learn more 

10. AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate 

Amazon Web Services offers training directly. Amazon recommends for professionals to have at least one year or more of experience designing AWS systems. This associate-level program validates your technical skills in the following areas:

  • Knowledge and skills in compute, networking, storage, and database AWS services
  • AWS deployment, management, and operation services
  • Implementing security controls and compliance requirements
  • AWS Management Console
  • AWS Command Line Interface
  • Ability to identify which AWS services match a technical requirement
  • Define technical requirements for an AWS-based application
Exam Format 65 MCQ, multiple answers 
Duration 130 mins 
Price  $150 
Prerequisites Minimum of 1 year of hands-on
AWS experience 
Where to learn more 

Looking for experts with these certifications? We’ve got them! Drop us a line and we’ll help you get started.